Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I’ve been riding for about five months, I put 5000 miles on my bike. I did the MSF course and I got my MC license. So I was out visiting my cousin in north Memphis area...I took a right and found myself coming up to a weird intersection, I saw a red light and a half a minute later is when I realized that what I was actually looking at was a set of red lights, literally they were maybe 20-40 feet apart. I decided then that I hadn’t slowed down enough to stop safely at the first set and I quickly scanned the intersection and saw no oncoming traffic and decided to just run the first set and stop at the second set of lights being that I was scared to lose traction if I stopped suddenly at the first set and slide out into the intersection. This was a really dumb decision on my part looking back, I should have just dropped my pride and possibly took a gentle low slide and took the blow to my pride. Well instead I put a little (not much) into the throttle and as soon as I pulled out into the intersection a brown pick up came through the intersection a weird turn where visibility looks good but is actually very poor and it was just turning night time anyways, I collided with the passenger side door doing maybe 35-50, I can’t tell if he was turning into the lane I was going in or if he was going straight and I just reacted so quickly that I made an insanely sharp curve to try to avoid him. Either way, I remember hitting his truck at an angle, a loud slamming noise and I think I flew over the hood at this point. I remained totally conscious. I remember thinking, oh, [email protected]&%%, I was just in a wreck, this isn’t too bad, I hope my bike is okay and then I thought, I haven’t hit the ground yet and so I did a sort of tuck and roll but remained relaxed. My leg (femur) broke as soon as I hit the ground. I remember seeing the car lights and street lights turn into one big circle as