Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So I'm just getting into riding and a family friend said that they had a bike in their yard. I went to check it out and it's got rust everywhere, both the tires are flat it looks like it was being worked on before it was left and I have pictures but it seems like there's no way to post them? If it's just the engine trouble I have to worry about(and wheels and other replaceable things) then I want to keep it and work on it but I was wondering if it's to rusted out to be safe. No one knows anything about it as it was a bike that an x-boyfriend left behind. If some one could explain how to post pictures that would be great and then also give input.

The bike is a Kawasaki 750 ltd.

Edit: I sort of figured out how to upload images, there attachments though.

Edit: never mind the pictures seem fine.

Attachments

·
Save them all!
4,278 Posts
Depends on the state. NH is really easy for bikes over 20 years old.

It looks reasonably complete and not wrecked, so assuming the engine turns it might be a good project. It will need new tires and a complete fuel system overhaul minimum.

This is a project bike though.. do this because you want a project bike. If you're just looking for an inexpensive bike to learn to ride on it's better to move on and get something that actually is on the road. This is a bike for someone who WANTS to work on one. It's going to take time - and you have to have a space to work on it for an extended period. It's likely going to break down the first couple times you have it on the road, too, as the bugs get worked out of it.

I wouldn't even consider it though if the engine won't physically turn - that's the first thing to check.

And what Dods said above is very true. Unless you get really really lucky you won't come out ahead financially, especially if you figure out your time you will have into it. It really depends on what's wrong with it though.