Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, so I got my new project bike and it is a bobber style 89 VT600 shadow. The only problem with it is that someone hacked up the wiring. None of the wires are attached and I'm having trouble following the diagram for the VT600 shadow (this is my first time rewiring). Could someone help me understand it more or even better send me some pictures of the wiring they have on their bike so I can match mine up to it. Connections and all would be preferred. For now, just the wires that deal with the ignition so that I can get the bike started and then I will move on to the lights and other accessories.
Thanks, Q

·
Biker
1,638 Posts
Hi there, qpermenter15,

I don't have that kind of bike but since someone made a 'pigs breakfast' out of it I think I can give you some help.
Do you have a wiring diagram for the bike? If so send it to [email protected]

For the most part, a line comes off Bat+ to ignition sw. a fuse being on one side or other of it, to protect the bikes
wiring from shorts. a heavy wire from bat+ will go to a starter solenoid mounted either on starter motor or most
likely near the starter with at least one smaller wire coming off it . Of course another heavy wire will go from solenoid
to starter.

Once ignition ( ig sw.) is on power will go to engine run sw. ER SW. here is where u should have 3 wires on that sw.
1 wire is live 12 v.+ when ER sw. is on power will go to ignition circuit AND to a short jumper wire that goes to
the start switch, thumbing that sw. energizes coil in starter solenoid causing heavy contacts to be bridged and stater will
crank over the engine.

if that does not work, it is possible there are safety interlocks, clutch might need to be held in and kick stand might need
to be where ownere manual says for bike to start, so there could be a small sw. where clutch and /or kick stand is.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·