Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
3,607 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It seems that many of us took a bit of a hiatus from riding at some point and got back into it later. The two most common stories I hear are accidents and having kids. What is your story?

I started riding on the street at about 21. I had bought a little Honda CM450 that was actually a perfect starter bike, but it had a few problems and wasn't cool enough for me, so I sold it to a friend and bought a 1985 Honda Sabre. Now I had more power than brains. I rode it tentatively throughout an entire winter, and on the first sunny day that spring a car shot out and never saw me. I jumped off the bike and watched as his Honda Accord smeared it all over 220th st. Scared the holy living **** out of me and I swore off riding. I did ride some in the dirt and had a quad for a while, but never rode on the street for the next 21 years.

I picked it up again and had some fun on a 2004 Suzuki SV650, then bought my dream bike, a 1987 Yamaha FJ1200. I loved it so. I had it 2 weeks and wrecked it on a mountainside, trying to ride someone else's ride. I wound up face down at the edge of a cliff staring out at the biggest Ponderosa pine I had ever seen; I then looked back down the road and saw a Subaru station wagon coming up the hill. Since hitting either of those were my alternatives, I guess I didn't do too bad. I wasted my shoulder and the surgeon called it "major league damage." I swore off riding again.

2 years later they took my parking privileges away at the hospital where I worked, and my choice was to either ride a bike or park off campus. My late wife, Trina, was terminally ill and I wasn't willing to be stranded at work with the car off campus, so I got back on the horse. I bought a 2006 Triumph Scrambler and fell in love all over again. This year I have put bout 3,000 miles under my butt, the most in any single year in my life, and am having more fun than ever.

·
Registered