Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 83 Posts

·
Registered
3,750 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Seems that one of the most common “mods” is changing out the stock exhaust pipes. From comments here it seems that some who buy a brand new bike don’t even wait for the first ride before spending big bucks on new pipes. I’ve been riding for almost 40 years and I still don’t get it. Is it for the looks? I agree that some pipes look different, but I never thought that really mattered at all. To be louder? That has no appeal to me. I ride a Goldwing and would be very happy if it made even less noise. To add power? Is that real or just all in the head of the rider? Or is it just a way to keep spending money related to an interest in our lives? Thinking back over the last four decades, I only remember changing the pipes on one bike, and I did it hoping for a bit more low end power. What I got was more noise but I don’t think there was any significant change in how the bike accelerated. I decided if I wanted more power I should just buy a different bike which is what I did a short time later. A new, more comfortable seat I understand. A new windscreen that better blocks the wind I understand. And anything that helps fit the rider better to the bike, like risers, I understand. But pipes, I don’t get it.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Less restriction in the flow of exhaust gases from the engine equates to more power. Aftermarket exhaust is less restrictive and lets your bike produce more power.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
3,750 Posts
Discussion Starter #3