Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Read Only
685 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Concerning a two-way street (one each way), where do you position yourself? I've been riding on the street for 47 years now. No serious accidents yet. Knock on wood. Never had official training, just rode dirt, raced flat track and grew up on bikes for experience. But have been told that riders are taught to ride left of center. Is this true? I won't do it unless I'm not cornering. And I will not ride side-by-side for the same reason. I've seen too many people in cages swerve across the center line. And it happens fast. I've had near-death experiences with that, but have managed to get to the far right and allow them to go by...only because I was riding right of center in my lane. One week ago, a 19 y/o woman in my area was hit head-on by a pickup truck in a corner and killed. This time it was she who crossed the center line on a corner. The investigation is on-going.

So, where do you position yourself and why?

·
Biker
1,726 Posts
I stay a bit left of center as a cager is more likely to see the bikes headlight more than if I am right of center. I use the L. side mirror more when driving my pick-up truck and have seen that most bikers use L. of center also. On tight R. side curves I'll slow down some and be in middle of my lane, I know I could see more into the curve if I stayed closer to middle of road but I think it's a nice way to get clipped. L.hand tight curves, I stay right of center of my lane and I don't really expect others to stay in their lanes around curves.

·
Registered
194 Posts
When the road is straight and there is no oncoming traffic, I ride in the left hand tire track. The biggest hazard then is someone pulling out of a side street or a driveway. If you're close to the edge of the road, he has to pull out further to see you, and you tend to blend in with the edge of the road.