Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Hooker
921 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Haven't gotten my first bike yet - doing some reading and preparation before I even start the MSF course. But I'm curious to hear about some of your worst spills (even if your worst wasn't horrible).

What happened?

Whose fault was it?

Was it preventable by you (regardless of whose fault it was)?
What could you have done to prevent it?

Any damage to your, your bike, other vehicles/people/property?

Thanks for your answers. I'm curious to see what kind of responses I get from what seems like a surprisingly safety-orientied community. :)
(edited - I forgot how to spell)

·
Registered
1,097 Posts
I was 15 years old. I had been riding (and racing) for over 5 years and was quite good on a bike.

I was riding a stripped down Honda 160. It ran well but was quite beat up. I mostly rode it on trails, but this time....

I rode about ten miles away to see a new girlfriend. I had, shall we say, one of those "first experiences" with her that day. She was really beautiful. :)

On the way home, it was raining lightly. I was riding pretty fast on local roads, about 60 mph.

On a long, sweeping turn, about 1/4 mile from my house... there were some slick spots on the pavement... my tires were pretty worn out.

I do not actually remember the accident itself. When I regained consciousness, briefly, I was lying in a pool of blood. My left leg was twisted up in a way it should be able to go. I left arm had bones sticking out of it. I didn't feel so good.

There were cars everywhere and I could see flashing lights and police. The oddest thing was, there was a dump truck turned on its side on the road. I remember thinking, "How the hell did I knock over a thing that big?"

I recall some guy saying, "I don't think he's gonna make it." I lost consciousness again.