Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im new to motorcycle, but i always like being prepared. So what do you do when you get flat on motorcycle? how do you react? how do you control the bike if you are riding?

·
Ace Tuner
2,935 Posts
When you have a flat it rarely goes flat all at once.
So check your air pressure/tires before every ride looking for cuts, a nail or any damage to the tire. Keep a watch on the wheel air valve also.

If you were to loose all of the air in a tire instantly, get off the throttle, go easy on the brakes and ride it best you can.
If the rear tire has the air loss use the front brake. If it's the front tire, use the rear brake. If the brakes are linked, wing it.
And you can be glad you are wearing all that safety equipment cause you might be about to test it.

As far as being prepared, you can buy an emergency tire plug kit. There is a bunch of 'Seal n Air', CO'2 inflate kits and the like on the market.
ALL of these are nothing but TEMPORARY FIXES to get you home. Nothing else!

·
Female Rider
9,311 Posts
We carry a plug kit and an air pump at all times. We also have roadside assistance and towing on all of our vehicles and bikes. Good advice above. There is at least 1 member that had a blow out on his bike. Hopefully he'll chime in and tell you his story.

Good Luck and don't forget your T-CLOCS. pre-ride motorcycle inspection.

·
Gone
23,907 Posts
It's important to monitor your tires, because you only have two and no spares. Roadside assistance and towing is a great add-on to your insurance policy.

·
American Legion Rider
23,605 Posts