Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 72 Posts

·
Registered
2021 CanAm Spyder RT
3,923 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I think most would say that any two wheeled motorized vehicle is a motorcycle, but then what about those that dismiss scooters which certainly are motorized and have two wheels? And what about when one of the major brands comes out with a fully automatic transmission of some type or another AND self balancing gyroscopic technology, and likely safety features like "smart" cruise control? I only started riding in the early 1980's, and by that time most bikes already had electric starters, and I remember many "old timers" saying that a bike without a kick starter is not a "real" motorcycle. We've gradually gotten used to all sorts of improvements that would have stunned a rider from the 1950's, for example. Things such as electronic fuel injection instead of carburation. And now we have HD offering an adventure bike that lowers itself a few inches when coming to a stop. I can't even imagine what is coming next, but almost without doubt the old bikers will be dismissive of the new bikes as not "real" motorcycles, and the new riders full accepting the new features as just the state of the art.

What brought these thoughts to my mind was twofold, the new HD lowering bike, and on the other hand, a discussion with my youngest son about the acronym I had learned when first riding, "FINE-CC" as a guide when starting a bike. It stands for Fuel (lever turned to on position), Ignition (on), Neutral (check that it is in N), Engine (cut off switch in run position), and CC for Choke open, Clutch lever pulled in. My son said he was a bit confused, asking what did I mean by turning a fuel lever to on, and since when does a motorcycle have a Choke? Made me feel a lot older.

Reactions: Retired Guy

·
Registered
279 Posts