Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 188 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter #1
New rider here. I have been reading about abs brakes. Apparently BMW started putting them on all their bikes in 2012, but before it was only an option on more expensive models? I read that you are 30% more likely to either not crash or survive (can't remember) with abs but they are usually only on larger bikes. Since I am a beginner, I want to stick to 250cc or so. I read opinion on abs brakes is a bit divided. Does anyone have any advice or experience with this?

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

·
Aging & Worn
4,516 Posts
As regards ABS Brakes themselves, they can be a blessing and a curse, depending on the situation. I wouldn't necessarily avoid buying them, but it all depends on what you are most familiar with. There is a learning curve with them.

As regards the rider and the NEED for ABS Brakes, I'd say that aside from an unexpected emergency situation where the brake type becomes important, the way the driver approaches situations during their ride, has a direct affect on the need to even USE the brakes (either type).

If you want to pay more, for a bike with ABS Brakes, go ahead. Brakes that are NOT "ABS" are not necessarily "bad" at all, if you know how they respond and how to use them effectively. The reverse is also true.

-Soupy

G

·
Discussion Starter #3
As regards ABS Brakes themselves, they can be a blessing and a curse, depending on the situation. I wouldn't necessarily avoid buying them, but it all depends on what you are most familiar with. There is a learning curve with them.

As regards the rider and the NEED for ABS Brakes, I'd say that aside from an unexpected emergency situation where the brake type becomes important, the way the driver approaches situations during their ride, has a direct affect on the need to even USE the brakes (either type).