Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I started riding in mid June, but since then I've put on 2700 plus miles. Still a novice I suppose, but certainly far better than when I started. I'm a lot more confident now - I no longer fear the rain, I am learning the limits of my lean angle, and slow speed, tight maneuvers come naturally now - if I can find two adjacent parking spaces, I'll pull in, make a tight U-turn, and end up parked front end out and ready with room to spare. No duck walking for me!

To be fair, I'm on a BMW G310R, it's a light, easy bike to sling around. I specifically got it as a starter/learner.

That said, after long stretches of empty highway with a headwind, I have felt the desire to have a bit more power. Sustained riding at over 7000 RPM isn't as fun or relaxing as it sounds. I'm not looking to break records, but to have something that would make long distance trips a bit more comfortable. So I'm already thinking of a second bike - either replacing the first one entirely, or supplementing it. I do like BMW, so maybe an R1200GS or the new F750GS when it comes out, but those are both considerably heavier than what I have now. Certainly not opposed to other brands, though that's not the topic.

I hear the techniques learned on a small bike will translate to a big bike, but is that truly the case? What other unexpected adjustments does one have to make when going to a bigger bike, and is there a general guideline as to when it's appropriate for a safety conscious rider to do so? How can one train for it in the meantime?

If it matters, I'm fairly short - 5'7" with a 30" inseam. I can double flat foot on my G310R, though in practice, I always stop with my right foot covering the brake and my left foot down the moment I stop moving.

·
Gone
23,907 Posts