Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I live in a sub divsion of Cincinnati, Ohio (Anderson township) and i want to bring my 1975 Suzuki TS185 enduro to ride around my streets. its a 2 stroke screamer so would get some attention but would i get in serious trouble for riding it around the streets (without licensing and street legal lights) even if i maintain the speed limit and stop at all stop signs? could i get my license held off? (im only 16)

·
Banned
770 Posts
If your lucky a cop will just tell you to go home and not ride it on the street anymore.

Worst case scenario, they right you a hefty ticket and depending on the local laws might be able to impound the bike for a day or 2 if they really want to be dicks.

·
Registered
3,153 Posts
This totally depends on your locale and the particular cop that catches you.

I started riding at 8 years old and even though I have plenty of property to ride on, it didn't take me long before I started venturing beyond it. Probably by the time I was 13 I was regularly riding all around town, mostly on farm roads but frequently on back roads. When I was 16 I had a DR350 that was once street legal but not anymore by the time I got it. I didn't have a license either (not till I was 18). But I still took that on the road, rode it to school sometimes, the store, the beach...

I was lucky to get away with all the things I did, and it's largely because all the local cops grew up out here doing the same things 20-30 years ago so they had mercy on me.

·
Banned
4,381 Posts
At least, put the street legal lights on it and wear ATGATT.
More likely than not, they WILL take the bike AND deter you from getting ANY kind of license for a year or more.. :frown:

Eric

·
Premium Member
14,680 Posts