Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
2007 Yamaha Road Star Silverado 1700
4,672 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
...yep. I dropped my bike. First time since I started riding, oh, 7 years ago?

Luckily I dropped it into soft dirt, and there's no damage other than my pride. As I was getting on it to move it back to our back patio it started slowly leaning to the right. Try as I might, I couldn't correct it, and when I knew the inevitable a quickly hopped out of the way and let it drop down lightly on the ground. Well, as lightly as a 500 lbs motorcycle can be laid down.

The good news is that I had watched videos of how to pick bikes up, and easily walked it back up and onto the side stand.

As I examined the site of the unfortunate event, I believe I figured out what happened. The bike was more or less all on the concrete sidewalk, but the rear tire was right on the edge. I believe as I stood the bike upright, it rolled over and was mostly hanging off the sidewalk, thus levering it to the right.

Oh well, no longer can I say I've never dropped my bike!

·
Registered
4,168 Posts
It is good to hear that you and the bike were not damaged.
A 500 lb bike had better be easy to set upright, that is a lightweight in my world. My bike weighs in wet at about 900 lb and can be a challenge to set back on the stand. The backing into it method does still work though. I intentionally lay mine on the tip overs for some maintenance functions so I know what it takes to stand it up when I am done. It is still easier than working on things from the left side while the bike is on the kick stand.

·
2007 Yamaha Road Star Silverado 1700
4,672 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
When you factor the much higher center of gravity and ground clearance of the Bandit compared to most cruisers, in terms of difficulty of picking up its probably right up there with 800 lbs cruisers. After all, the Bandit has a whopping 6.5" taller seat than your Vision. ;)