Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, I'm new to motorcycles (but not new to fixing vehicles). I picked up this bike a little while ago and haven't had the pleasure of ridding it much yet. I had a series of problems and once I fixed them, I seem to have a bigger problem--the bike won't turn over. Can you give me some advice?

The other week I didn't let it warm up long enough and it kept stalling while riding... it didn't take long before starting it killed the battery. A friendly biker stopped and tried to help me push-start it. While doing that, the throttle cable pulled out of it's connection to the clutch (or the clutch return mechanism, I think it's called). He was nice enough to give me a ride home. I fixed the clutch connection and re-adjusted the clutch cable to the best of my ability: so that with the clutch pulled, I could push the bike in 1st, but with the clutch released, I couldn't budge it. I also replaced the battery. Then I saw my fuses was blown (single fuse, right on the hot line), so I replaced that, too.

With all that taken care of, I let it warm up a good, long while and took it for a ride. I barely had any throttle, and couldn't break 30mph. I rode it for about 30 minutes to see if it would work it's self out, but it didn't. Then I left town for work for a few weeks, and when I got home, the bike wouldn't turn over at all. Power is good, starter is working, but the engine isn't catching. I've got gas in the tank, starting with choke on.

Only other thing to note is that I had filled it up with gas and a cap-fuel of engine stabilizer on a buddy's advice.

What do I do? What do I look at next? It ran great before I ran it dead. Thanks to whoever read all this!!

·
Save them all!
4,278 Posts
Hi there! My assumption is that the starter is turning the engine but it's not starting.