Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
2021 CanAm Spyder RT
3,938 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Maybe I look even older than I really am, but I have been riding since the early '80's, so I'm getting closer to 40 years of riding (I was 40 when I started riding). But the other day while filling up with gas, a really old guy came over to look at my Goldwing, and asked if I had ever owned a bike that used a kick starter. He said his old Indian sometimes was a challenge to get started with its kick starter. While I am familiar with what a kick starter is, I told him that no, even my first bike had an electric starter. Made me think that there probably are not too many folks around riding street bikes that have ever had to use a kick starter. I guess 40 years from now there might well be new questions being asked of old timers, like "did you ever have a bike with an internal combustion engine?", or "did you ever have a bike with a manual transmission?" or even "did you ever own a bike that wasn't self balancing, where you had to learn to keep it upright instead of it doing it automatically by itself?". Times are always changing.

·
Registered
432 Posts
Used to be that a the electric start was unusual... First bike was an EL Harley -- pure kick (actually was by kid-brothers, but we rode it back and forth). All my Nortons were kick-start, as well as a very independent minded Ironhead (magneto -- had to retard the mag to start unless you wanted to go into low-earth orbit about every fifth kick or so), but starting with the electro-glide it was weenie-button, except for a few of the Shovelhead Superglides had both weenie-button and kicker , never owned one -- rode my boss's -- but all my later bikes have been sans kicker... I think a CX500 Honda I had for several years was the first all-electric I had... then it's been weenie-button all the way...

-- Larry

·
On The Road Again!
4,212 Posts
I still have one pure kicker here, my '77 Honda Trail 90.