Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,

I want to buy my first used motorcycle and I'm not an expert on buying used bikes from private sellers. I found a really good deal which I thought was too good to be true, but I went and checked the bike out. It's a Suzuki GSXR 600, 2007 with 8k miles. We agreed on a 4k price, but the bike does need some work. It has clearly been dropped on both sides and scraped up. The clutch lever is broken from a fall, and the bike needs a new rectifier. I checked the VIN and it matches the title, and has a clean history of no accidents/salvage or theft. Do you guys think this is a good deal. I'm not a mechanic, and don't want to get duped. My friend with me and he said it runs fine, and it looks okay. What do you guys think?: postimg.org/gallery/kt7hlxw8/

·
Registered
4,998 Posts
I think that is a lot of money to spend on a bike that is beat up. By the time you have it fixed and clean, you could have just bought a clean bike for $5500

BTW, you didn't say if this is your first street bike or your first bike period.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks. This is my first sport bike in the states, and second bike ever. A few years ago I owned and learned on a smaller 150cc bike while on vacation overseas for a few months.

·
Registered
4,998 Posts