Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What do you guys use for video recording your rides, what microphones, cameras, any tips or tricks for new people using this equipment? I have been riding for 50 years but just got into the gopro thang. I do have an older GoPro HERO4 which works great except for wind noise. Haven't tried narrating into it while riding yet.

·
Registered
2015 custom/ modded Yamaha R3
466 Posts
Ive tried to put several different cameras on Raven. She spit them all out. All these expensive cameras are roadkill now. Raven does not like cameras on her.

·
Registered
2015 custom/ modded Yamaha R3
466 Posts
I am assuming Raven is your bike.. Have you tried mounting it your helmet? That's where mine is at the moment.

R. S.
Yes Raven is my bike. Ive had several on my helmet. They worked the best but all got destroyed through various mishaps.

·
Secret Agent
2006 Honda CBR1000RR, 2008 Honda CRF230L, 2019 Honda CRF1000L
2,990 Posts
I have the garmin virb ultra 30. Works fantastic.

Here's a screen grab from my camera.

It's mounted on crash bars.

Here it is on my CBR.

I control it with my Garmin GPS. Don't have to, I just do.

·
Registered
746 Posts
I currently have two setup for my GoPro Hero7. One is helmet mounted. The other is tank mounted behind the windscreen. Tank mounted the audio is picked up from the camera mic. The helmet mount requires a mic adapter cable into the GoPro that runs inside the helmet to a lapel mike. This arrangement worked better with the Hero3/4 than does the 7. I have also mounted them in various other locations on previous setups, ahead of the windscreen, on the side fairings, mounted to the rear pointed forward, rear pointing back. Tank pointed forward or back, etc.

I have yet to find a camera with easy mounting and great audio, good battery life and easy remote controls, and high quality. Maybe there is one out there as I haven't researched the latest offerings.

·