Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
439 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In the twisties I've come along way since I started riding 8 months ago. I'm still not fast by any means, but at least on right handers my lines are smooth and I always feel in control. Lefties, eh, not so much.

Just a matter of more practice? or is it normal for right-handed people to struggle more with left turns?

frustrating.

/Catharsis

·
Member Map
23,909 Posts
I think it's just a case of practice. You'll improve the more you do it.

I'm right handed and find the lefties easier to do, I will always choose a left U-turn over a right anyway. :D

·
2007 Yamaha Road Star Silverado 1700
4,672 Posts
Yup, just keep practicing. I think its more a factor of riding on the right side of the road, at least for me. Wouldn't want to get decapitated by a car's side mirror!

·
Registered
108 Posts
Most motorcyclists find it easier to do the left tight turns as it gets the throttle away from your body. The right turn get's hard and throttle control diminished when tucked closer to your body.

At speed though, I have no idea why you are having trouble. practice, practice, practice.

·
Registered
608 Posts
Try going to a parking lot early on a Sunday and just go in big circles until you feel more comfortable. Or sign up for a track day school.:cool:

·
Registered
2,836 Posts
I found left turns to be easier at speed just because there is more room on the outside, however left turns from a stop were harder, however after doing it for a few years its second nature now-a-days. If you having trouble with turns at speed make sure your looking through the turn the bike wants to go where your looking.

·
Registered
608 Posts
If you having trouble with turns at speed make sure your looking through the turn the bike wants to go where your looking.