Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I will try not to be too long-winded here. I am fairly new to riding; under one year of actual riding experience. I did take the MSF course and passed my driving test just fine. I now have 2 bikes, one is a cruiser and one is an enduro (street legal). About a month ago, I wiped out on my enduro going about 35mph on the road. There were no cars around (thankfully). I wasn't seriously hurt, but I did crack and bruise my ribs and scraped up my knees and hand (I wasn't wearing proper gloves). I had to replace my helmet because the front of it hit the pavement.

I took my cruiser out today; it was my first ride since my spill. A little back story. I just got this cruiser a couple of months ago for very cheap. I've had to do some work on it like new tires, new front wheel bearings, and new front brakes. So, the bike is pretty new to me. This ride today marked only my second ride on the bike.

I went about 50 miles today. I found myself not really wanting to go past 45-50mph. I was being cautious for 2 reasons. One, the spill and injury I had. Two, I need to make sure there are no issues with the bike before I feel comfortable going faster than 50.

Has anyone experienced this before? I am thinking that if I get more time on the bike and trust it more (afterall, I did get it used and cheap), I will feel more confident in going faster. But, do I have to? Other than a car getting behind me and having to wait for an opportunity to pass me, is there a problem? Or, am I a 50mph major road hazard that just needs to hang up the helmet?

·
Registered
781 Posts
There's two issues going on here, Ski.

1. It's a used bike. You have no idea at the moment what might be wrong with it, if anything. If you feel uncomfortable about going over the bike yourself, consider taking it to a shop and have a qualified mechanic look it over.