Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
562 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
got my Yamaha xs1100 going, needs some fine tuning, my conundrum is to find out if I should use luggage and a windshield or not to. keep in mind I have been riding for about 4 years or so- who knows I may have lost count- I learned to ride on a vintage bike with a backpack, a helmet and a jacket. the luggage is heavy, ugly and will probably slow me down if I need to outrun a line of traffic. the bike is hardwired for the fairing though and I don't want to rewire it because I suck at it.
my current bike

my other bikes

·
Registered
467 Posts
I guess everybody has their own tastes. I understand not wanting the luggage because it's big and heavy, but I personally think it's some of the better-looking luggage I've ever seen. I think it goes really well with the bike.

·
American Legion Rider
23,605 Posts
Doesn't cost anything to leave it for some time and see whether you use the stuff or not. You won't have trouble selling the luggage anyway, it's is as has been said, some of the best and best looking. Windjammer made another fairing that would have gone better with that luggage but they may have done that after it was available to the guy the first time around. It was smaller and more angular that better matched the luggage.

·
Registered
25 Posts
To me, it depends if you have use for it. I usually just carry a backpack, as well, but if you are going for a long hard ride and or have a decent amount to carry, test it out. I think you'll be suprised how much it doesn't slow you down. Just depends on what you need.

·
Registered
3,160 Posts
That fairing is horrible, but I actually think that luggage is really groovy!
I'm just the opposite. fairing I can live with, but the luggage????? Where did they get those lights for the top case? Looks like maybe a gravel truck?Any way,why four red lights up there?