Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Ace Tuner
3,555 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In times past I used to run a race compound tire on the front of my street bikes and a sport compound on the rear.
Then DOT race tires became Very Specific and were recommended for dry only so I went to sport tires front and rear on my street machines.

These days I don't ride nearly as much as I used to so my front gets too old (hardened) to be safe long before the tread is gone. I generally get ~11,000+ miles out of a sport compound front tire. (I use the throttle a lot more than the brakes). Lol

I believe Metzeler was the first to advertise using a high content of silica in their performance tires and claimed silica provided increased grip in the wet.
Long story short... I found this to be true when I had an R6 Yamaha and ran a sport compound rear with very little tread grooves to disperse water.

I studied up on the latest DOT race tires thinking I'd likely not wear out a front before it 'aged out'. Turns out Bridgestone race tires are using silica enriched compounds. I decided to go for race compounds front and rear.
Bridgestone RS 11 front and an RS10 rear. They make an RS 11 rear but it is in short supply so I had to get the older type RS 10.
Pic below.
Can't wait to try these babies out. I bet they'll work in the wet... I can still get into my armored street leathers. (Takes a little effort though). ;)

BTW. If you need THE Rain Tire for a small-ish cage that provides Great Handling in the dry too. Michelin Crossclimate 2 is THE Tire You Need !
In pic below.
Tire Wheel Hood Automotive tire Synthetic rubber

S F

·
Registered
388 Posts