Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I wanna hear some tips on buying a used motorcycle, where to buy one, what to check etc. is craigslist a good source for a used bike? What about motorcycle repo or salvage auctions?
Thanks

·
Registered
619 Posts
A little background would probably help, like what kind of bike do you want - cruiser, dual sport, standard, etc.? What's your budget? What's your experience level?

·
Registered
619 Posts
If you're closer to buying, sitting on a bunch of them to see what you like, is probably your next step. I went to the Motorcycle Show in February. The two bikes I liked the most going in, were the two bikes I liked the least after sitting on them because they had the pegs under your butt, but I prefer when they're placed where the gas tank meets the seat.

If you ask me a repo or salvage just sounds like a bad idea, though I've got no experience with them. There can be some great value on CL, but you won't know what you've got until you've got until you've already given them your money. Sometimes it works out, others it does not. If you can bring along a knowledgeable friend or relative, that would be helpful.

If you buy from a dealer and you're spending $3K, you can probably extract some kind of warranty from them to give you some time to ensure it's working properly, but buying from a dealer will likely cost more, so you'll get less bang for your buck. As always, the perfect choice remains elusive.

·
Registered
2,336 Posts
How much riding have you done prior to taking the BRC? Those bikes you mentioned have a lot of power and are not beginner bikes. If you are totally green l would suggest starting with a dual purpose bike and learn how to ride before getting on a rocket. And yes, you can find good bikes on Craigslist. That's where l found mine.

·
Premium Member
6,520 Posts
Used

Years ago I traded in a lot of used bikes on new ones.