Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just bought a 2001 Suzuki Intruder. Took it for a ride a week or so ago, and everything seems fine, aside from I'm still learning how much choke it wants to get started, doesn't always pop off right away. But of course I have no idea how well it was maintained over the years, so I'd like to take it to a local shop for a tune up. I'm thinking change the fluids and filters, check the carb and make sure it's not running too lean or rich. Check the brakes (I think the rear brake pedal has a little more travel than it should), tire wear, new spark plugs, coolant, that kind of stuff. But I really don't know, what all is involved in making sure a bike is in good shape and ready for the road? Is there a standard "tune up" that is common for older bikes, or will I need to specify what I want checked? What's a reasonable price? I used to do simple stuff like oil changes and spark plug wires back in the day, so I have some basic understanding but everything is much more complicated these days.
What are some intelligent questions I could ask the mechanic? I'm willing to pay for a good job but I don't want to get cheated.

·
Registered
4,844 Posts
Do everything you feel confident in doing before taking it to a dealer and paying them to do the easy things. It will save you some $$$. Also if you are a little hesitant to tackle a job, see if there is a how to Youtube video, or check the Suzuki/Intruder forums for tips and advice.

Tackle one job at a time and it won't be long before everything is done. Good luck with it!

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·