Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 70 Posts

·
Aging & Worn
4,517 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am not (admittedly) the brightest light bulb on the shelf in some categories of discussion. Nobody would ever accuse me of it anyway! (lol).

Some things I am fairly swift on, but when it comes to motorcycles well......I'm still learning every day.

Sure, I've ridden for a number of years, and yes, I have a strong mechanical background and fairly good common sense but..........

When I go into a motorcycle Dealership (mostly HD Dealerships) with my background in Honda bikes, I feel stupid. I can't tell one model from another at first glance. I don't have the acronyms memorized, and I can't tell the size of the motors (in "cc's") just by looking at em.

If I was to Test Drive one at some point, (and I see myself doing that someday), I'd be nervous as a cat on a hot tin roof! Sure, I know where the clutch, brake and throttle are, and would understand the feel of a bike underneath me, but that's about it.

Even recently, standing there with Gator looking at used the "Used" bikes, he could call out things about the various bikes that I had no clue about.

I study up, I read, I ask questions, but I'm wondering just how different the "new" bikes ARE these days. I've been living in the "Used" pre-2000 market for so long, I realize I need to study up more.

Has that ever happened to you? Do you go into Dealerships of ANY bike and feel as though you "don't know what you're looking at" on some level?

It's intimidating. It's uncomfortable. It makes me realize just how ignorant I am on some level.

Worst thing I could imagine, is to go in and buy a bike (I have a dream one day, of a new HD or Indian sitting in my garage) that I really don't know about; that I would have to say "I don't know a lot about this bike."

I'm sure the fundamentals that I have learned about bikes these many years of riding, will be there for me, but I don't want to choose the WRONG bike for "me."