Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im a motorcycle noob.

I have a Yamaha yzf 600 rt (c)

i noticed it first when i was going about 60 in 5th gear down a country road near my house. The tacho just dropped to zero and stayed for a few seconds, then jumped back to read what the motor was actually doing.

Now it does it in almost any gear past 2nd. but only temporarily each time

I dont really need to look at it anymore because ive gotten used to shifting on the bike.So I'm not sure if this is dangerous or not, just looking for some input on the matter.

Also, when shifting from 1st to 2nd, i have to double shift to avoid snatching "making a loud sound" when i hit 2nd. for example i have to half shift up to neutral then half shift up to second for a smooth shift. anytime i just try a full shift from first to second, i hear a loud clank and sometimes land in neutral regardless of how far up i pull the shift lever. Just wondering if this is a finesse thing that i just have to get used to or a common problem? Also is there a sweet spot in rpms where i should be shifting from 1st to second, and is it easier on the bike to pull in the clutch and shift before the tach drops at all, or ease into second by letting the tach fall a little while in mid shift?

sorry if my questions and info are poorly phrased.

·
Premium Member
5,274 Posts
Likely a loose wire in the tach circuit; could be power to the tach, or the signal pick off from the ignition. The wiring could also be rubbing and shorting on something, so check out the harness.

The shifting problem sound like the clutch isn't fully releasing. If the cable is adjusted properly, maybe you need an oil change?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Thanks for the reply