Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a complete noob but I just thought I'd throw this out there for the other noobs. I think my 2007 Suzuki C50 is a great first bike, for me anyways. Now I'm a big guy at 5'9" and 290lbs and a former power lifter so the weight of this bike as compared to a 250 or something is not an issue for me. I can hold it up with no problem and if I dropped it I could pick it up without issue; if you are a smaller guy you may want to consider this cuz it is a solid bike. Now the 250 I rode for my training course was easier to turn and maneuver but I hated riding it as I looked like an elephant riding a bicycle on it and it had no power. The 800 cc of my C50 seems like just enough. The bike is big enough that I fit on it well and where the 250s just were no fun with no power this bike has just enough to be fun without being so much that I don't know what to do with. I'd highly recommend my bike to a noob, especially if you are a big guy who wants a wide bike. And I got mine for $2,800.00 for a bike with 9k on it, which I think was a good deal after I got the guy to knock of $600.00, I'm not overly invested in case I lay it down as I go through my growing pains. A lot of people will recommend the 250's as a starter bike but the fun factor is just not there at all, my bike never felt so good after I rode a 250 for a weekend for the course.

·
Troublemaker
2,520 Posts
I had a C50T for a couple years, put almost 50,000 trouble free miles on it. Actually, I can't think of any problem at all with it.

·
Registered
4,928 Posts
that's the great thing about cruisers, if you can handle the weight of the bike, you can start on just about any size engine....that's because all the power is in the low end and not high speed....I mean, yeah...don't go out and buy the biggest engine bike you can find, but starting on a 950cc bike is fine....