Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I own a 1995 LS650, for some reason at random times when I am accelerating (in any gear) the engine kinda lags out or 'sputters' and is unresponsive when I apply extra throttle. I release the throttle and apply again which usually helps alleviate it temporarly. This is very dangerous to me because I will be going 15 mph from a right turn trying to get upto 45mph and its lagging out on me regaining my speed. Oh and also, does the 'choke' need to be pulled OUT(toward me) or be left in while riding? What is the fuel knob that reads RES/ON/OFF. Which position should it be? Sorry for all the questions but on some site I read that my stuttering could be caused by a 'too rich' mixture of fuel that is not combusting.

If you can answer these for me I will be eternally grateful to you, I'm a beginner and want to ride safely.
Special thanks for any input =)

·
Registered
12 Posts
sounds like to me your fuel mixture is way off. it may be to rich or to lean. depends on how its sputtering. if its popping back through the carburetor they its probably not getting enough fuel. if its popping in the exhaust it might be getting to much. does it idle good or not. im not sure about the choke. i would say say push it in when the engine is warmed up. Thats how i always remember chokes on bikes. The fuel knob has 3 setting on it. you will want to run it in the on position when you fill the tank and when it gets low after riding a long distance it will start sputtering and try to run out of fuel. that is when the reserve or (RES) comes in. put the selector in that position and get to a gas station quick. Fill up and put the selector back in the on position. If your bike sits more than a week or so put it in the off position to keep from your carburetor from leaking all your fuel out.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3