Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everyone. I am a newbie to bikes and not sure what I got myself into. Looking forward to and advice from the Gurus.
I have received a 2009 Yamaha Vstar 650 Custom from my Uncle. According to him, the bike was parked in his covered apartment parking lot in Houston for a Year. I towed it to my place and had someone come to my house to fix it. He cleaned the gas tank as well as the carburetor. I rode the bike for 30 minutes and then parked it. Next morning it never started. I killed the battery trying to start it. The guy came back and said I need to fill up the tank and put a bottle of seafoam and the ride it. That is what I did when he started the bike second time. I rode it for 20 miles on the Freeway hoping this will clear the carb. Parked it and it never started next morning. Every time I crank it, it starts for 2 seconds and then die and then never starts. The only way to start it is to pull it behind my truck with the rope in the second gear. It takes good 250 feet before it starts. I have to turn the gas half way few times during the pull and then let go of the gas. This eventually starts it up. After parking for 3-4 hours. It won't start again and I have to pull it behind the truck again. I am so frustrated at this point that I want to pull it behind my truck to the nearest Bayou. The estimates to just bring the bike to the shop for carburetor check-up is upwards of $500.

Thanks in advance for any insight on this.

·
Registered
879 Posts
Most likely the carbs needs to be cleaned thoroughly. If it sat that long with fuel in them, then they're lacquered up and probably needs a better cleaning.

·
Retired twice: Navy and as a govt contractor
11,528 Posts
Are you using the choke to start it? Vstar's are notoriously cold natured.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4