Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
First post here!

A bit of background, I am 45 living in Canada. I have been using a Vespa (50cc modified to 80) for the past 5 years and am really enjoying so much that I am now looking to get a proper bike (or larger scooter, but I am not herefor this ;). 5 Years in Montréal's traffic not a single accident or issue).
I am a fairly prudent, low speed kind of driver (never had a speeding ticket in my life, and am super mellow).

Wife is really against motorcycles (they find them too dangerous) and I have to choose my battles. Getting a motorbike is already a hell of a battle waiting to happen. I can NOT imagine getting the license, getting a "learning" bike and then sell it a year after to get a larger bike.

I know the proper way to go is to go small first and I am the opposite of thinking this is a stupid idea I would absolutely do this if I could. Also I am not looking for a sportsbike.
My current reasonable shortlist is: Triumph Bobber; Kawa Vulcan 900; Ducati Monster 821
The not reasonable shortlist is: Ducati Diavel

Question is pretty straight: Should I just focus on scooters (I have my eyes on the BMW c400 and c600GT) or is there a way to learn without dying on such a list of motorcycles?
If so, what advices/suggestions would you recommend?

If I go the proper motorcycle way, I'll also try and find some driving technics schools to learn more efficiently.

I have to say this is the last thing between me and owning a bike at this point. I have never driven a motorbike before and I have to say it scares me a bit and the fact that I won't be able to go the "proper" way of learning is a real concern.

Thanks in advance for any link/experience and recommendations you could give.

·
American Legion Rider
19,418 Posts