Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First of all, I am not yet a rider. I am planning on taking lessons next Spring and then shopping for one of two models that have made my short list.

Because I'm a beginner rider, my research was focused on "starter bikes". These are the 250-500cc bikes.

My initial impression was that you start off on a bike near the 300cc range and eventually move on up to bigger bikes.

With all the research I've done, it seems the term "starter bike" is not a fair term.

For someone who plans to use their bike as an urban commuter, maybe with some occasional secondary road riding, it seems like these bikes are the perfect deal. They are cheap, economical, and are even making a comeback. I've read many threads from experienced riders saying they are reverting to these bikes, and from people who have started on these bikes and have yet to "upgrade" after a few years riding them.

All that said, it seems unfair to label this class of bike as a "starter bike", giving the impression that you buy them only to train on, but will no doubt eventually outgrow them. It seems more accurate to dub these bikes "commuter bikes" or something along those lines. I understand a beginner would want to start on them because they are more forgiving and safer because of less power and less weight, but that just reinforces the idea that they are proper bikes for beginners, but not necessarily beginner bikes. (I also understand that for many other riders, these bikes simply don't serve their needs or wants after one or two years).

In my case, I am planning on getting a TU250X. With everything that I've read and based on my intended use, I decided to stop thinking of it as my "starter bike" of choice but rather "my first bike".

Again, I have no motorcycle experience yet, so I may be talking out of my pooper, but this is the general impression I've gotten after two months of in depth research.