Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a little Honda car 125 cc, I need it serviced for the end of season here but thing is I want to learn how to service myself. Is it a bad idea for me to buy a shop manual and hop right in and I should take the bike to a shop, or could an absolute beginner make do on his own with the Internet and manual his only guide without destroying the bike?

·
Gone
23,907 Posts
End of year service is generally simple. Things like the oil change and stabilizing the fuel can be done by most mechanical beginners.

Just don't force anything enough to break it!

·
Ace Tuner
2,912 Posts
^^^^What Dodsfall said^^^^
Also, verify any "how to" stuff you find on the net.

·
Registered
3,160 Posts
Here is a good place to start. http://www.dansmc.com/winterize.htm

If you live in a place where you cannot buy gasoline that does not contain ethanol, go to a marina and buy it there. You could also buy this.
http://www.stihlusa.com/products/oils--lubricants-and-fuels/premixed-fuel/motomix/ Even though it is 2 cycle premix, no way is it gonna hurt to have a little oil in your gas.

Due to the expense of the Stihl premix, what I do is remove the fuel tank and run the bike until it runs out of gas.Drain out all the fuel and burn it in your car. Then spray the tank with penetrating oil to store it for the winter. An alternative is to drain the float bowl then use a small slave tank to run the bike for five minutes or so to put the Stihl fuel into the carbs at full strength. Ethanol fuel [or the moisture it attracts] will etch the aluminum innards of a carb if left there for a length of time. One bike that I rescued actually had a perforation of the bowl due to the stuff.