Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
2021 CanAm Spyder RT
3,984 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Years ago when I was an MSF Instructor, a fellow Instructor that used to teach with me would ask anyone that rides what seemed like an odd question. He would introduce himself and then ask, "do you like long rides or short rides?", and add, "I prefer short rides". At the time it seemed strange since my focus was always on the next big, long motorcycle trip that I was looking forward to. But a lot of years have passed since then, and now I find that I too seem to prefer short rides. Just this past week, on a few absolutely perfect riding days, I made two different kinds of rides. The first was solo, and lasted about 5 hours. I covered about 275 miles and while I thoroughly enjoyed myself, I must admit that the last hour or so I just wanted the ride to be over. I was really tired. Then yesterday, with my wife as passenger, we took a nice 58 mile, just over one hour ride to a favorite lunch spot. We enjoyed a leisurely lunch and then made the just over an hour ride home. Thinking about the two rides, I must admit that the "short" ride was the more pleasurable. Maybe its just a sign of my age, but I guess I have become a "short ride" rider. Riding until I am worn out just doesn't seem as much fun as it used to be.

·
Registered
1,299 Posts
I know that I prefer "short" rides but that definition is highly dependent on what type of bike you ride. Earlier this week, I rode with a friend about an hour (one way) on some very twisty roads and I was definitely pushing my limit (in a good way!) to keep up with him. The ride back was still fun but by the end I was ready for it to be over as my posterior was feeling every little bump and my knees were getting stiff. If I had been on a naked or sports tourer, I have no doubt that I'd have been more comfortable and ready for a longer "short" ride...

Reactions: Porky

·
SUPER MODERATOR
9,333 Posts