Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
2005 Suzuki C90T
694 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How do you secure your helmet to your bike when you make stop? I'm thinking about trying a gun lock that I have several of. It's pretty much a padlock with a cable instead of a heavy short metal loop. Thinking about using that to secure it to the passenger backrest. So far, my tow stops I've just carried it in with me but I'll be going to an event where I'll do some walking around.

·
On The Road Again!
4,341 Posts
I just put the helmet in the trunk on my Goldwing.
If the trunk is full, there are two helmet hangers under the rear of the trunk.
In your case, they make helmet locks that bolt on to the bike. You might need to buy one of those.

·
Registered
2005 Suzuki C90T
694 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
My bags don't lock and it wouldn't fit anyway. I'll Amazon for one. Do you just stuff your jacket and gloves in the bags?

·
Registered
775 Posts
Since I started riding again a few years ago, I started attending a few motorcycle events.

Since I didn't have any means of securing my helmet, I carried it. Then I noticed that many bikes had helmets hanging from them, unsecured, so I just hung mine from the handlebar and went about enjoying the show. At the very large Motoblot event this past summer, attended by thousands, I saw LOTs of bikes with leathers draped over them, helmets hanging from them, everything unsecured. I would have never thought that in a place like Chicago such a thing would be done, but it was and it is, and to me, it really made a point about the nature of the community here.

I've started leaving my helmet hanging unsecured in a variety of parking situations. Admittedly, .... it's not the most desirable looking helmet. Another factor: Illinois doesn't require us to wear brain buckets, so I can always ride home irritated, but legal, if it should be stolen. Just gotta keep my shades in my pocket.

·
On The Road Again!
4,341 Posts