Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, brand new member here.

First off, I will have to admit to my severe lack of knowleadge regarding motorcycles. Frankly, I only know how to ride them.

I have some questions but I can't post in the appropiate sub-forums (due to being a new member) so this one will have to do.

I'm the proud owner of a Kawasaki Z750 from 2006.

I have been driving this bike for 3 years now and always took it for service maintenance at a proffesional workshop as suggested by Kawasaki.

It's time for the 24.000 km (15.000 miles) one now, which is going to be a big and expensive one.
Normally I would take it to the shop without any second thoughts but I recently made a new friend, one which knows a bit about bikes, knows some mechanics and has been driving for many many years.

He told me that taking it for service at a Kawasaki workshop would be a waste of money since most of the cash I would pay for it would be due to checking up on stuff that don't need to be meddled with 99,9 % of the time.
He adviced me that I should just swing by him one day soon and then he would help me change the oil (yeah, I don't even know how to do that yet!) and do a check up on the tire pressure, other than that would be overkill and waste of money he said.
He stressed that even though a more thorough service at a proff would be best, it just wasn't worth the money and adviced me to just wait untill an actually problem showed up.

What's your take on this? Especially considering the fact this service is one of the major ones, where the valves are to be inspected.

Should I just continue spending money on service after service at a prof, or forget about it and just do the yearly pre-season stuff like oil change and so on?

Any advice will be much appreciated!

·
Gone
23,907 Posts