Motorcycle Forum banner

Second bike questions

2K views 10 replies 7 participants last post by  Oldman47 
#1 · (Edited)
Hey all,
I am prepping for a bike purchase next Fall and wanted to get advice on jumping to a larger bike. I have been riding a 1980 KZ550C LTD for a few years on and off (3 seasons total) and will ride it all next season as well. My bike is about 465 lbs and 550 cc and i am interested in a Triumph Thunderbird, Victory Highball, or a HD Street bob or similar. My concern is the added weight but mostly the added power. What are your opinions? Am I making too large of a jump? I'm 6'1" and 240 lbs if that makes a difference. I plan on doing some test rides next summer but wanted to get some advice before I get too far in my research. Thanks in advance

#4 ·
Squeeze me.

If you have figured out how to squeeze the throttle and the brakes, rather than grabbing big chunks of either, you may be able to move up to a bigger bike. If you are still having scary moments from any event, I would stay with what you have for a while.
My main winter bike is an 84 XS400.

Unkle Crusty*

#6 ·
I got to a 1300cc, 700+ pound Yamaha directly from a small 500cc Honda twin. The extra 150 or more pounds mean nothing once the bike is rolling. That Highball with the 1731cc, 106/6, engine is heavy but not like my present 900 pound Vision. Be careful writing off the power on it. It does not have the power of a super sport bike but it has plenty to get you in lots of trouble. My 106/6 is giving me 98 HP, 112 ft-lb at the rear wheel and if my bike was as light as the Highball I would have trouble keeping the front wheel on the ground.

#7 ·