Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off, Hi to everyone.. I am new to the world of motorcycle and I just joined this forum to learn about motorcycles!

I bought a used 125cc baimo renegade as a project. just trying to turn it into a bobber style bike.

I have recently found out that the fuel tank has some small holes on the side of it...

so I did search on google and found out that i could use fuel tank sealers to seal it from inside.

however, I have a problem/questioin before I go ahead and get the sealer etc!

what i need to know is what do i need to do with the tank fuel tap hole?

basically, I'm worried about pouring the sealer in the tank and the sealer liquide blocks the small fuel tap hole which is under the tank!

I haven't found any information about this on google and all the videos i found just showing how to pour the stuff in the tank but nothing about keeping the fuel tap hole from blocking when the sealer sets and drys from inside!!!

could someone please advise on this issue?

·
Greatest Member Ever
662 Posts
Hello Rooz, and welcome to the forum.

Typically, I don't use tank sealers to seal pin holes. I use JB quik weld and my own "technique". I use sealers if the tank has rust.

Anyways, I don't worry about the fuel tap hole, cuz you can always unclog the hole with an exacto knife.

·
lost
1,106 Posts
A length of appropriately sized wood dowel shoved in the opening if you wish. That is if it is a round opening with a threaded fitting. If it is a flush opening where two screws hold the petcock to the tank, just put screws in place and do as OEJ says with an exacto knife.

OTOH, I'd want a better look at those holes. Or what is around them. How much of the metal is now rust? Poking around the holes with your finger ought to let you know if the rust is extensive enough to be looking for another tank.

·
Save them all!
4,278 Posts
OEJ, care to expound upon your technique?

·
Registered
13 Posts