Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, friends! I'm a newbie both to the site and to the moto game. I recently bought a 2014 Yamaha V-Star 650 Custom. I love the machine but now I think I should have gotten something a bit bigger. I knew the 250s I learned on wasn't going to suffice as a first bike. I thought 950 or above would be too much bike for a 5'6" fella like myself. I still have more growing to do with my 650 but I can see that I will soon outgrow it. It's probably all for the best though.

I hope to learn a lot from all the veterans here and pick up plenty of pointers along the way. Heaven knows I have a hundred questions already!

·
Retired twice: Navy and as a govt contractor
13,461 Posts
Welcome aboard

·
Registered
4,168 Posts
Welcome to the forum and to riding.
For a nice bike with a low seat, have a look at the one in Critter's avatar. It is a 1300 cc Yamaha 4 cylinder that is a delight to ride. I owned one myself for 5 years and with my 29 inch inseam it never gave me any trouble. I could easily flat foot it and walk all around while on it. It has plenty of power for even an experienced distance rider while not being overpowering or even being peaky in its power band.

·
13,461 Posts
PS. Critter started this year on a VStar650 Custom Silverado :) Great bike, but just wasn't for me.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Thanks, everyone for the warm welcome and recommendations. They will really help in another year or two when I may upgrade.