Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It is possible to turn a discontinued and unsupported 2003 United Motors Renegade 200 into another more supported make of bike?

I am a novice, but I got this bike free, and it has some electrical problems.
I can't really find parts, even online. Or even the shop/manufacture manual.

Wondering if any bike sages out there could give me advice

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
With it not running I doubt I can sell it at the moment. I will have to get the electrical system fixed first at least.

·
Aging & Worn
4,517 Posts
Sell it and use the proceeds as a down payment on another motorcycle?

I tend to agree with Dodsfall. Why waste the time and money, unless you have tons of both, and don't want to "ride" for a while.

There is a temptation inside me, to find an old beater somewhere, and make it a Winter Project. I've entertained the notion of stripping it down and renovating it, piece by piece, over time.

What YOU seem to be considering, is sorta the same, if I'm reading you right; in that you want to take the foundation, and change it to something different.
Sounds like you might pull the motor (for example) and buy a replacement to put there. Sounds like you might have a bike that is truly unique when you are done.

So..........if you wanna "ride," buy a bike that's running. If you want a "Winter Project," have at it. Just be prepared for the fact that you might have to do some major modifications to various parts of the bike, to achieve your goal. It might be "fun" to do, and I'm a bit jealous (actually).

I'm still looking for that "beater" that I could resurrect for the "fun" of it.

-Soupy

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Any time and money given to that bike is time and money wasted, IMO. Those Chinese bikes are cheaply made and they are disposable.