Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I want to buy a used 2007 ninja250 for 1600 but it has a salvage title.

How much does it cost to register a salvage? Is it worth it to invest in this bike?

Thanks

·
Registered
23 Posts
I have no experience with salvage titles on motorcycles, except that people always say to stay away from them.

I have a feeling you can find the same or a newer model 250 without the salvaged title for a similar price or not much more. I just saw a beautiful 2011 250 for only 3k on craigslist... the bikes hold their value well, so you shouldn't worry about the price too much.

If you're going to buy a bike with a salvage title and you don't know much about bikes, bring someone who knows a lot (preferably a mechanic). a third party can help you avoid making an emotional decision and keep you within the realm of logic. If you'd have to invest to get the bike going in good shape again, those little repairs will add up fast if you have to take it to a mechanic. Keep in mind, also, that a bike with a salvaged title will be difficult to sell. (You probably won't stay on a 250 for much more than a year, but that's all based on how much you ride, how you ride, and what you want to do.)

Some vehicles can get salvaged and stay mechanically awesome, like my mom's car that got hailed on twice and was totaled. It's serious business, though, it's your safety you're paying for.

·
Registered
6 Posts
about ready to buy a salvage title bonneville t100,2006, under 2000 miles, looks good, I live in Oregon any thoughts, pro/con on this? thanks, I'm a new rider after being off bikes for about 40 years.

·
Registered
23 Posts
about ready to buy a salvage title bonneville t100,2006, under 2000 miles, looks good, I live in Oregon any thoughts, pro/con on this? thanks, I'm a new rider after being off bikes for about 40 years.