Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 55 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

I am new to everything. My biggest concern is safety. I have been trying to research what the safest gear is and I would love to hear from experts.

I should mention that I don't care how the gear looks or if I look ridiculous wearing it. I just want the safest options. I am a 5 foot 1 inch female, will it be more difficult to find gear for someone of that size?

I read that some materials for riding include leather, kangaroo skin, and cordura 1000D. I searched on Dainese's website but I would love to know about other recommendations or if there is anything safer.

I also am curious about how back protectors work. I read that CE2 is the safest. Is the same certification system used for hip armor? What other types of armor are there? Should I buy a jacket after I buy a back protector or are there jackets that come with them? I read it is safer to buy one separately but I want to get more opinions.

I also read a really good review for Icon Airmada helmets, does anyone have any other recommendations?

I am looking for the safest gear available but I am having a hard time finding information. Thank you everyone in advance!

·
Registered
804 Posts
Welcome, skymall007!

You have a lot of good questions. Unfortunately, there's no easy answer to any of them. Much of what you've read is really marketing spin.

Leather is probably the safest in terms of abrasion resistance. But armor provides the cushion for impact. You'll find that the MotoGP and other high end racers wear a combination of the two. But it is extremely hot.