Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a rookie and signed up for a rider training course. My plan is to buy a bike this winter and be ready to go when the snow melts. Summer is short enough, I don't want to waste a minute of it. I live in a rural/remote area and I don't plan to wheel and deal buying a smaller bike and then upgrading to a larger bike, if I can avoid it. This is a terrible place to be looking for used bikes.

I am well aware that I will need to put a ton of miles on the bike before I will be able to ride with a passenger. My wife and I are really looking forward to getting out on the road together though. I am actually shocked how excited my wife is about it. She says she lived in the back of a bike in high school and we have been married over 25 years. Is that a mid life crisis?

I am 235 lbs, I don't know what my wife weighs (I suspect 200ish), but between the two of us, we are a load. How big a factor is that on the machine I choose? I read a poster on this forum saying hs Shadown 750 had a 375 lb weight limit.

My plan was to go mid weight cruiser, I like the V Star 950 and The Vulcan 900. Am I buying a large enough machine. I have read some argue the V Star 1300 is just as easy to drive as the 950?? But what do I know?

I am open to advice. 90% of our riding will be highway cruising

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
2,336 Posts
Welcome to the forum from Seattle :)

I think there are a lot of variables to consider here. By "rookie" do you mean that you have never ridden a motorcycle before? Or maybe you have been riding in the dirt forever and just never ridden in the street?