Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I had no idea where to post this, but I'm guessing it has something to do with my riding position or something, I figured this was the place. If not, my apologies.

I started riding last month, and man am I in love with being on 2 wheels. I have a '08 V-Strom 650 that I feel comfortable on, and my confidence in myself and the bike is increasing quickly. I am 6'3" 250 and sit basically upright on it. I make sure to not death grip it and my arms are not locked. I am working diligently to get my legs and abs to keep me on the bike so that I can continue to loosen my grip.

The last couple of times I've ridden (about 15 minute or so rides across town and back) I have woke up the next day with a pretty sharp pain directed at the tip of my right shoulder blade, and It tightens up when I move my neck and/or shoulder. So my question is, am I just developing a muscle I've never used that much, or is my body position messed up? Could I still be keeping my arm too stiff or my shoulders too stiff? I love riding, and want to ride every day, but this shoulder deal keeps me off the bike for a day or 2 in between rides. Any advice? Maybe some work-out or stretches I can do to help with this?

·
Registered
2015 BMW K1600GTL & 2008 Harley Davidson Dyna Super Glide Custom
1,435 Posts
It really is impossible to say what might be causing this, unless you know for a fact that you're having a fit issue with the bike. It does usually boil down to bar position and the type of seat you have, but it could easily be the way you're leaning... It could be anything. I guess it definitely could be doing new things and your body's not used to it.