Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

· Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm posting here to find some answers to some specific riding questions, I've ridden motorcycles in my youth, but definitely I'm not an expert.

I'm part of a team that is designing a personal aircraft, capable of vertical take-off and landing (VTOL), the pilot having a prone position, as riding a bike. I've attached images so you can have an idea of how it looks like. More details here: aliptera.com/#ADR-1

My first question is about the airspeed. How uncomfortable is to resist the air pressure of the wind blowing into your face at high speed, as our speed estimates for the aircraft is at about 120 kts (140 mph)

My second question and I guess is the most important one is: how likely is for you to ride one. I would like your detailed opinion either pro or cons, even if you do not know anything about flying an aircraft. Let's suppose the aircraft is easy to fly, with minimal training. We all know that riding a bike is not the safest thing out there; how do you compare riding your bike to flying an rid-able personal aircraft, from the perceived safety point of view.

Thank you!

Attachments

· Premium Member
6,196 Posts
Traveling at more than 100mph on a bike, even with a windshield, can be very tiring. The turbulence of that big prop behind one's feet would add to that. But, I suppose, if the craft has auto stabilization, the workload could be a lot less, but that prop could still be a problem. I also fly model aircraft, and know the landings are the hardest part, so it would have to have emergency features, like a parachute or airbags, or both. For short rides, it could be real fun, though; I might try one.

· Registered
1,176 Posts
Flying meat grinder, no cage separating the rider from the prop? Looks crazy to me.

· Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
@Eye_m_no_angel: No this is not for a school project; it is a real project.