Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The brakes on my '03 Shadow ACE were a little sticky. Tried lubing up the pivot and any contact points which helped but didn't resolve the issue. I bought the bike used last year so I'm not sure what maintenance it's had on it. Clearly it had no maintenance on the MC.

The rebuild kit came today so I decided to give it a shot (I'm no mechanic but I can hold my own). Drained the fluid, which needed changing anyway, and tore apart the MC. Sure enough, the piston was grainy and the cups were worn down. I cleaned out the bore and installed the new piston with new cups, spring, washer, snap ring, and boot. I did not change the banjo bolt or its washers.

Got everything back together, topped off the fluid, and went to bleed it. I must have refilled the reservoir three times and never got any pressure in the brakes. I bled it a couple times out of the banjo. I'm noticing tiny bubbles coming out into the reservoir any time I pull the handle. I can only imagine there is a leak in there somewhere. My current thoughts:

The banjo washers: didn't replace, torqued the thing to hell to recrush them but maybe that's not good enough?

The cups: service manual says do not let cups turn inside out when sliding back into bore. I noticed the cups were slightly larger than the bore. It took a good amount of playing around to get the piston in. I was unable to see if the cups were inside out.

Any other thoughts? I just ordered some new OEM washers; they should be here next week so I can try them out.

Cheers

·
Save them all!
4,278 Posts
How are you bleeding the master cylinder exactly? They can sometimes be a pain to bleed!