Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey wanted to shout out for some info on Rain Riding.

I am actually one of those people that see the storms comming and jump for my bike. I have been riding for many years on my 94 suzuki rf600 (in the rain :D ) and use all the proper safty gear yet I am worried about my new bike. I just picked up a 08 cbr and its so nice I dont want to ruin the engine. I hear there fine running in the rain. I was looking to fnd info on improving that capability. An insert maybe or something to protect the air vent while not choking the engine.

I always feel that if you do not push that envelope when it comes out of the blue you will not be ready. I am a chicago rider 365 rain sleet or snow. I feel more capable on the bike from riding in these adverse conditions and would like to get some input on the subject it self as well. :p

I've found that laying down on the bike vastly improves the control in these conditions. Placing the sturnum on the tank and cradling the legs on the back pegs shifting with hand (ofc at the rpm breaks). This in effect lowers the Center of Gravity on the bike making it pretty much impossible to tip. I have even been in the rain on one wheel in this position shiftigng to second in the air with no adverse effect. I come from a long line of Aerobatic flying (been flying sinse 4 years old 20+ years of aerobatics and airshows over 50,000 hrs) and more over I fly the bike. I believe in this concept so much that I have gone through a ft deep chunk of snow like it was butter bairly a wobble. This concept really takes knowing the envelope of the bike and keeping in that extreme in the max effect gear for the speed and time.