Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm interested in trading in my current bike for my next one. As this is my first time with a motorcycle trade-in, I have some questions I hope you can help with:
  • Trade-in value; should I expect close to NADA value to be offered for my bike so long as the bike is in good shape?
  • MSRP; do dealers come off sticker some? At all?
  • Any tips for how to get a good deal?

Thanks!

·
Registered
686 Posts
I haven't bought a motorcycle since 2019 and a whole has changed since then. Dealers have a hard time getting stock, due to the pandemic, so they have little incentive to offer discounts at the moment. I would expect they're being more generous on the trade-ins, but I don't have any firsthand knowledge. As always your ability to walk away is probably your biggest bargaining tool. The more dealers you talk to, the more likely you'll find one amendable to giving you a better deal. What kind of bike are you looking at getting?

·
Registered
619 Posts
You will not be offerred anything close to book value for your trade; if you are, it means they have jacked the price on the new bike; and if they haven't, then they'll hit you with all sorts of non-related fees which they'll claim cannot be waived and which will not even be mentioned until the final "sign here" documentation is prepared.

Sell your bike to an individual. If you take the first lowball offer you get you'll come out miles ahead of a trade-in.

·
Registered
4,235 Posts
Best part of trade-in through a dealer is that you will pay a little less taxes on the purchase of the new bike.
Mark-up on new motorcycles is not great so it is difficult for dealers to discount the list price, but they make good markup on accessories and apparel so they might give you a discount on a helmet or boots purchase at the same time.