Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

· Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I'm new to motorcycle riding and I've come across a few horrific stories of people crushing their ankles in accidents.

What is a good way to prevent crushed ankles (apart from the obvious, don't crash)? Do floorboards help keeping the bike's weight off of the ankles in a crash? Do boots have to have special ankle protection? A few of the stories I read mentioned rider's wearing proper motorcycle boots but still ended up with crushed ankle.

In motorcycle accidents, do crushed ankles result from foot twisting to unnatural angles or bike's weight?

Thanks!

· Registered
CB125T, EX250 commuter, Ninja 250 racebike, CBR250R(MC19), VF500F, CBR600RR, VFR750F
819 Posts
Hi,

I'm new to motorcycle riding and I've come across a few horrific stories of people crushing their ankles in accidents.

What is a good way to prevent crushed ankles (apart from the obvious, don't crash)? Do floorboards help keeping the bike's weight off of the ankles in a crash? Do boots have to have special ankle protection? A few of the stories I read mentioned rider's wearing proper motorcycle boots but still ended up with crushed ankle.

In motorcycle accidents, do crushed ankles result from foot twisting to unnatural angles or bike's weight?

Thanks!
All the above. Crashes are very unpredictable, both in their causes as well as effects. While ankle injuries do occur, they tend to not be as common or severe as head injuries. Various medical and insurance associations have stats on moto crashes and injuries if you want to look up actual numbers.