Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone!!!!

I've been riding for two years, started with a Honda CBR 250 and moved to a Kawasaki ZZR600 (2007 model) which I have right now.

I love the bike, I bought it used at 20,000 miles roughly, but have some concerns and would really REALLY appreciate any help from anyone who I'm sure is a lot more experienced than me.

A LOT of times, I'll be riding and suddenly the engine will stop. All the electronics will still be working, displays and everything, but engine itself will just stop and the oil light thing will come on. I'll put it into neutral and press the start button, and it'll start right back up without a problem and run fine. Until it happens again. It ESPECIALLY happens whenever I'm downshifting or braking quickly and it's really frustrating!!!

Another concern I have is: I know that this is a 600 cc bike and should have more "power". But I have some SERIOUS concern because I can only get up to around 25 mph in first, up to around 40 in second, only into around 50 in third, 62-ish in fourth, and 70 ish in 5th, and then it maxes out at around 80-90 in 6th. I know its maxing out thanks to the high rpm's and just the strain the engine makes.

I'm really concerned and hope someone can help me, especially with the speed/power issue.

Thank you so much!!!!!!

·
American Legion Rider
23,631 Posts
Does it have a kickstand switch that might be bouncing some?

·
Subversive
416 Posts
I can only get up to around 25 mph in first, up to around 40 in second, only into around 50 in third, 62-ish in fourth, and 70 ish in 5th, and then it maxes out at around 80-90 in 6th. I know its maxing out thanks to the high rpm's and just the strain the engine makes.
When the engine is "maxed out" as you say, what are the "high RPMs".... I don't think it could be "maxed out" at 90 in 6th...as "maxed out" would mean it's turning the engine at or close to the redline...

·
Veteran Member