Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Driftless Rider
1,540 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The Old
So, I've been riding my 08 Vegas for many years and the scoot has been about as reliable as the sunrise. But now, after 45k is has some bigger scheduled maintenance that need attention.

Front fork seals and rebuild. (left seal is beginning to weep just a bit)
Steering head bearings (notched as dead center)
Rear shock replacement (no noticeable issue, just on the list for replacement at 50k)
Fuel filters (recommended replacement at 50k)
Tires

I can do the rear shock myself, but all told (including labor) this all adds up to around $2700.

The KBB trade value is $5100- but I will take a bit of a knock for high mileage.

The New?
An area dealership has a 2013 Cross Country with 5700 miles for $13k. It's pretty much stock and a clean bike, will need tires before the end of the season, but that's about it.
I have sent them detailed pics of my Vegas and they offered only $3500 for trade value.

The catch...
It is pretty easy to see that I should probably trade, but there is more to the story.
My Jeep is 13 years old and has 150k on it. It will have to last another 3 years if I buy a new scoot. That, compounded with the fact that I will have almost $7k in medical bills rolling in from knee surgery 3 weeks ago.

Just looking for other points of view and advice.
I would be pretty content to keep riding the Vegas as I still like the scoot, on the other hand, spending almost it's value to do the maintenance seems a bit daft.

So...what say the masses?

·
Visionary
4,632 Posts