Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

· Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'd like to buy a scooter new from the dealership, I'm totally new to this and I wonder what fees are acceptable and what fees are not.

Unit price is the MSRP ($3,099). From seedealercost.com I think the dealership paid ~$2,750 for it. I guess there's a little bit of wiggle room there but not much. I understand they have to make a profit on it of course.

Then I see freight $350. I guess that's the cost of shipping the scooter to the dealership? I'd think $200 would be more reasonable, no? I think that's the amount I saw somewhere but I can't remember where.

Dealer prep $199. OK it probably takes an experienced guy an hour max to put it together out of the crate? That sounds a bit much as well.

Tax I guess can't be avoided :-D $228.

Then I see $150 doc fees. Not sure what that is?

$104 for tags and $100 for title. I'm guessing this is administrative and can't be avoided...

So total is about $4,250 (for a $3,100 MSRP, seems like a big difference). I guess here is a little bit of possible haggling over unit price, freight, dealer prep and doc fees? ~$400-$500 off maybe? Tops?

· Retired twice: Navy and as a govt contractor
12,410 Posts
The doc fees are set by the dealer in MD and that seems to be a standard rate. You may have a little wiggle room there. Dealer prep is also set by the dealer you may have some room there. Shipping you may or may not have any room. Taxes none. Tags and title none. It all depends on how bad the dealer wants to sell it as to how much you can get off of it.

· Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·